Lyon and it's region

Lyon is a city located in the Auvergne Rhône Alpes region and has more than 500,000 inhabitants .Rich in a varied historical and cultural heritage, it is also the second-largest student city in France.

Where To Stay In Lyon ?

As a student, there are several possibilities to find accommodation.

Where to go out in Lyon ?

Restaurants

Lyon is considered the world capital of gastronomy. You will surely hear about the « bouchons lyonnais » which are typical restaurants of the city where you can taste local specialties (quenelles, “lyonnaise” salad, cervelle de canut…). Quenelles are mostly made with flour, eggs and butter. It has a thick oval shape. It’s delicious ;). “Cervelle de canut” is a sauce made from cottage cheese and chives

The Festival of Lights

If you’re in Lyon around the 8th December, you will have the opportunity to attend the Festival of Lights of Lyon ! In the city center you will find free visual and sound shows. It is an important popular and religious festival for the city of Lyon.

PARKS AND GARDENS

You will also find plenty of green spaces and parks within the city.The most famous park is surely the park named “Parc de la Tête d’Or”. Located in the 6th arrondissement, it features a lake on which boating takes place during the summer months. With more than 105 hectares, you can discover zoological, botanical parks or simply walk through the alleys of the park. Besides, there are also manyother parks (Parc des Hauteurs, the Garden of Curiosities, the Garden of the Museum of Fine Arts...). Don't forget to visit the botanical garden in front of the faculty of Pharmacy 😉

MUSEUMS AND EXHIBITIONS

If you’re interested in history, we advise you to go to the Roman museum and theater located not far from the Basilica of Fourvière or to the Gadagne museums on the history of Lyon. The Maison des Canuts ou la Saint Georges silk factory will make you discover the history of Lyon silk. If you’re more interested in contemporary museums, you can find temporary or permanent exhibitions on various themes at the Musée des Confluences.

Musée des Confluences
DIFFERENT CITY DISTRICTS

- Vieux Lyon, also called Saint Jean district, is a very touristic area of the city. You will see many Renaissance buildings, the Cathedral of Saint Jean or traboules Winding their way through buildings, courtyards, and up and down staircases, Lyon’s secret covered passageways, or traboules, are ideal way of visiting the city’s hidden and colourful past. From this district, you just have to cross the Saône to find yourself on the peninsula and discover the Place Bellecour, the Terreaux, Ainay or Jacobins district. With its hills and its many stairs, do not forget to discover the Croix Rousse district.There are many other neighborhoods to discover; it's up to you to walk around.

The surroundings of Lyon

If you want to get away from the city during a weekend, there are plenty of places and walks possible in the Lyon region and its surroundings. If you’re a ski amateur or simply a lover of the mountains, Lyon's proximity to the Alps will allow you to spend a few days in the fresh air.

The Alps

If you like skiing or snowshoe weekends, it is easy to get to ski resorts from Lyon.There are offers that include transport from Lyon and the purchase of the package for example (for about 50 euros with SKI mania, or Skipower).Some stations are also accessible by train (such as Les Arcs, La Cluzaz or the Alpes d'Huez ..).
The medieval city of Pérouges

Pérouges is a town located in the Ain 30 minutes from the center of Lyon. It is a medieval city classified among the most beautiful villages in France. You will discover a varied cultural and culinary heritage including the famous sugar cake, a specialty of the village.
The Beaujolais region

Located north of Lyon, this region is known for its architecture and vineyards. This can be an opportunity to discover the golden stone villages, to walk on the many marked trails between forests and vineyards or to discover French wine.

Lyon et sa région

Lyon est une ville située dans la région Auvergne Rhône Alpes et comporte plus de 500 000 habitants. Riche d’un patrimoine historique et culturel varié, c’est aussi la deuxième ville étudiante de France.

Comment se loger à Lyon ?

En tant qu’étudiant, il existe plusieurs possibilités pour trouver un logement.

Où Sortir à lyon ?

Les restaurants

Lyon est considéré comme la capitale mondiale de la gastronomie. Vous entendrez sûrement parler des « bouchons lyonnais » qui sont des restaurants typiques de la ville où on peut y déguster des spécialités locales (quenelles, salade lyonnaise, cervelle de canut…)

La Fête des lumieres

Si vous êtes là aux alentours du 8 décembre, vous aurez l’occasion d’assister à la Fête des Lumières de Lyon ! Dans le centre ville, vous trouverez des spectacles visuels et sonores gratuits. C’est une fête populaire et religieuse importante pour la ville de Lyon. https://www.fetedeslumieres.lyon.fr/en

Les parcs et jardins

Vous trouverez aussi beaucoup d’espaces verts et de parcs au sein de la ville. Le plus connu des parcs est sûrement le parc de la Tête d’Or. Il est situé dans le 6ème arrondissement de Lyon. Avec plus de 105 hectares, vous pourrez découvrir un parc zoologique, botanique ou tout simplement vous promener à travers les allées du parc. Le parc dispose d’un lac sur lequel il est possible de faire un tour en bateau pendant les mois d’été. Mais il y a aussi beaucoup d’autres parcs (parc des Hauteurs, le Jardin des Curiosités, le Jardin du musée des Beaux-Arts…). N’oubliez pas de visiter le jardin botanique en face de la faculté 😉

Les Musées et expositions

Si vous aimez l’histoire, nous vous conseillons d’aller au musée et théâtre romain situés non loin de la basilique de Fourvière ou encore aux musées Gadagne sur l’histoire de Lyon. La maison des Canuts ou la soierie Saint Georges vont feront découvrir l’histoire de la soierie lyonnaise. Si vous aimez les musées plus contemporains, vous trouverez au musée des Confluences, des expositions temporaires ou permanentes sur des thèmes variés.

Musée des Confluences
Les différents quartiers

Le Vieux Lyon, aussi appelé quartier Saint-Jean, est un quartier très touristique de la ville. Vous y verrez beaucoup d’immeubles style Renaissance, la cathédrale Saint Jean ou encore des traboules. Les traboules sont des passages urbains plus ou moins secrets qui servent de raccourcis qui relient une rue à l’autre, permet le passage entre immeubles. Cela permet de visiter une partie cachée de la ville. Depuis ce quartier, il vous suffit de traverser la Saône pour se retrouver sur la presqu’île et découvrir la place Bellecour, le quartier des Terreaux, d’Ainay ou des Jacobins. Avec ses côtes et ses nombreux escaliers, n’oubliez pas d’aller découvrir le quartier de la Croix Rousse. Il y a bien d’autres quartiers à découvrir; à vous de vous balader à votre guise.

Les alentours de Lyon

Si vous souhaitez durant un weekend vous éloigner de la ville, il existe plein de lieux et de balades possibles dans la région lyonnaise et ses alentours. Si vous êtes amateurs de ski ou tout simplement de la montagne, la proximité de Lyon avec les Alpes vous permettra de passer quelques jours au grand air.

Les Alpes

Si vous aimez le ski ou les week-end raquettes, il est facile de se rendre dans des stations de ski depuis Lyon. Il existe des formules qui comprennent le transport depuis Lyon et l’achat du forfait. Par exemple, SKI mania ou Skipower proposent des formules pour 50 euros. Certaines stations sont aussi accessibles en train comme les Arcs, La Cluzaz ou encore l’Alpes d’Huez…
La cité médiévale de Pérouges

Pérouges est une ville située dans l’Ain à 30 minutes du centre de Lyon. Il s’agit d’une cité médiévale classée parmi les plus beaux villages de France. Vous y découvrirez un patrimoine culturel et culinaire varié dont la célèbre galette au sucre, spécialité du village ?
Le Beaujolais

Située au nord de Lyon, cette région est connue pour son architecture et son vignoble. Cela peut être l’occasion de découvrir les villages en pierre dorée, de se promener sur les nombreux sentiers balisés entre forêts et vignes ou de découvrir le vin Français.